How do I file for Homestead Exemption?

Homestead Exemption

The Wayne County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office, on the first floor of the Wayne County Courthouse in Waynesboro, accepts applications for homestead exemption consideration between January 2 and April 1 of each calendar year.

In Wayne County, you only have to file one time for homestead exemption, but must refile for homestead exemption consideration if you have any experienced any changes in ownership (death of a spouse, divorce, sale of the property or the purchase of a new home)

Homestead exemption has been in place in Mississippi since being enacted by the Mississippi Legislature in 1938. The tax benefit is available to any property owner who meets the requirements of Mississippi’s homestead exemption laws and the rules and regulations established by the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

Applying for and being eligible to receive homestead exemption benefits entitles the property owner to receive a tax credit of up to $300 on his or her residential property taxes.

To apply for homestead exemption, you must bring the following:

  • All deeds to your property (recorded instruments only — warranty deeds or quit-claims, not a deed of trust).
  • Car tag numbers for all vehicles owned by you or in your possession licensed in Wayne County.
  • Social Security numbers for yourself, spouse and any joint owners.
  • Birth dates for yourself, spouse and any joint owners.
  • Purchase price of home. If you built your home yourself, we need to know the cost to build it.
  • If you live in a mobile home on your property, you must bring your mobile home registration certificate.
  • If you are 65 years of age or older, you need to bring proof of age, such as a driver license or birth certificate.
  • If you are 100 percent disabled, you should inquire as to what you should do.
  • Active-duty military personnel may qualify for some benefits if you own your Mississippi residence. You should contact our office to determine eligibility.

Click HERE for a downloadable worksheet before applying for Homestead Exemption (this is not an application, but a guide).

Examples of actions that can result in changes to and potential loss of Homestead Exemption that require action by the property owner:
1. All those applicants who sold property during the previous year and will not appear on the current Homestead Supplemental roll.
2. Those applicants who have changed exemption status (Example – Regular in 1994, over 65 in 1995.)
3. Those applicants who have had a change in ownership, occupancy, or property description. (A new application should be filed.)
4. Those applicants who died in the previous year. (A new application should be filed by the heir/heirs or new owners.)

Seeking for information on Homestead Exemption? Contact the Wayne County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office by calling 601-735-XXXX.

For the Mississippi Department of Revenue’s page dedicated to the state’s Homestead Exemption policy, click HERE.